The National Crisis Management System consists of:

- The Government Security Committee, which consists of the Prime Minister (chair) and the ministers of Finance, Foreign Affairs, Justice and Defence, respectively.
- The Senior Officials Security Committee, which consists of permanent secretaries of the five above-mentioned ministries and the heads of the Danish Defence Intelligence Service (DDIS) and Danish Security Intelligence Service (DSIS).
- **The group of policy directors**, a coordination group of high-level civil servants from the most affected ministerial departments and agencies.
- The National Operational Staff (NOST) which consists of the Danish National Police (chair), Danish Emergency Management Agency (DEMA), Danish Health Authority, De-fence Command, DSIS, DDIS, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Critical Supply Agency and Danish Civil Aviation and Railway Authority. Other authorities may participate ad hoc.
- The International Operational Staff (IOS) which consists of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (chair), Prime Minister's Office, Ministry of Justice, Ministry of Defence, Ministry of Health, National Police, DEMA, Danish Health Authority and Defence Command. Other authorities, travel and insurance industry representatives may participate ad hoc.
- Twelve local operational staffs with members from the police districts (chair), DEMA, the Home Guard, the regions and the municipalities. Ad hoc participants often include providers of public transport and utilities.
- Local incident command, which consists of local police, fire and rescue, and health preparedness incident commanders.